Kevin Blackwell photo.jpg

State Sen. Kevin Blackwell

Mississippi Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves has announced committee assignments for state Senators during the legislative session now underway in Jackson and DeSoto County Senators are again in prominent roles as regarding what committees they will be serving on.

State Sen. Kevin Blackwell (R-Southaven) was named chairman of the Senate Elections Committee and will be the Vice-Chairman for the Insurance Committee. In addition, Blackwell has been assigned to the committees for Accountability, Efficiency and Transparency; Business and Financial Institutions; Drug Policy; Economic Development; Education; Finance; Judiciary Division B; and Medicaid.

State Sen. David Parker (R-Olive Branch) is the chairman for the Veterans and Military Affairs committee and is the Vice-Chairman for the Local and Private Committee. Parker will also serve on the committees for Economic Development; Elections; Finance; Housing; Judiciary Division A; Public Health and Welfare; and Universities and Colleges.

State Sen. Chris Massey (R-Nesbit) was named as the Chairman of the Senate Ethics Committee and will be the Vice-Chairman of the Housing Committee. Massey is also serving on committees for Education; Finance; Highways and Transportation; Labor; Municipalities; Tourism; Wildlife; Fisheries and Parks.

Bob Bakken is Staff Writer and may be reached at 662-429-6397 ext. 240.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.