Vote graphic.jpg

Friday at 5 p.m. was the deadline for candidates to complete and submit qualifying papers to be considered in the August primary election.

At the DeSoto County level, several offices will be contested in the Republican primary on Aug. 6 and at least one primary vote on the Democratic side.

The candidate list from the DeSoto County Circuit Clerk’s office in Hernando indicated these Republican candidates had filed for the primary.

Misty Taylor Heffner and challenger Hugh Armistead for Chancery Clerk; Dale K. Thompson for Circuit Clerk; Josh Pounders for Coroner; Jim Holland for County Attorney; Bill Rasco and Scott Worsham for Sheriff; Jeff Fitch, Roger Palmer and Lemuel Girard Threatt for Tax Assessor; Joey Treadway for Tax Collector; Lawrence Vaughn Jr. for District 1 Constable; Mitzi Stewart Hodge and Bryant Bobo for District 2 Constable; Keith Combes for District 3 Constable; Bobby Holloway for District 4 Constable; and for District 5 Constable, Lee Hodge, Timothy Curtis and Carl Glass.

Among justice court judges, Republicans qualifying are Ken Adams in District 1, Larry Vaughn in District 2; Billy Lantrip and Clyde J. Gunter is District 3, along with Brad Russell in District 4 and Karen Sanders Carter in District 5.

Republicans in the race for County Supervisor are Jesse Medlin in District 1; Mark Gardner in District 2; Bobby Glen Reed, Charlie Hoots, and Ray Denison in District 3; Lee Caldwell and Kendall Prewitt in District 4; and Michael Lee in District 5.

Among Democrats who qualified, according to information received from the Circuit Clerk’s office after the 5 p.m. deadline Friday, James Hawkins Sr. and Bacardi Harris qualified to challenge for the District 3 Supervisor position, forcing a primary vote on the Democratic side in that race.

Current supervisor Bill Russell is not running for re-election.

James Woodward qualified as a Democrat to challenge Gardner for Supervisor District 2; and Willie Obadiah Lyons is running as a Democrat to challenge Larry Vaughn for Justice Court Judge in District 2.

One person qualified as an independent for county office. Lora Oxner Eytchison will run against Pounders for County Coroner.

Republicans representing DeSoto County who are running for that party's nomination for state office are: Robert Foster for governor, John Caldwell for Northern District Transportation Commissioner, Chris Massey, Michael McLendon and Murry Haslip for Senate District 1, David Parker for Senate District 2, Kevin Blackwell for Senate District 19, Dana Criswell and Mike Duncan for House District 6, Kimberly Remak, Wanda Jennings and Steve Hopkins for House District 7, Jeff Hale for House District 24, Jerry Darnell and W.I. "Doc" Harris Jr. for House District 28, Ashley Henley, Charlie Roberts and Francis J. Miller for House District 40, and Bill Kinkade for House District 52.

Democrats who qualified for office at the state level representing DeSoto County are: John Champion of Senatobia for Circuit Court District 17 Attorney, Lee Jackson for Senate District 2, Dianne Black for Senate District 19, Zelda Hill and Theresa Gillespie Isom for House District 7, Harold Harris for House District 25, Matt Williams for House District 28, and Hester Jackson McCray for House District 40.

The Mississippi Democratic Party chose to wait until after the 5 p.m. deadline Friday to release its list of pparty candidates.

The primary election will be on Aug. 6 this year with any needed runoff elections scheduled for Aug. 27. The November general election will be held on Nov. 5.

Bob Bakken is Staff Writer for the DeSoto Times-Tribune.