Baseball graphic

Myles Christian of Olive Branch has been named the Player of the Year on the MHSAA 6A-1 all-district team announced on Friday.

Christian led his Conquistadors into the 6A playoffs this spring by hitting a team-leading .424 batting average in 30 games, before being eliminated by eventual North Half finalist Hernando. He scored 42 runs, earned 34 RBIs, hit eight home runs and added 11 doubles and four triples. Christian also stole 28 bases for the Quistors.

Last November, Christian signed a baseball scholarship to play next season at Middle Tennessee State.

First-team all-district selections were Dylan Gatlin, Jaylon Dyer and Jake Vienna of Olive Branch, Luke Clement, Matthew Taylor and Markarius Lee of DeSoto Central, Joe Gee, Ryan Nicholson and Darius Hetts of Horn Lake, along with Austin Kolwyck, Bailey Jones, Jaylen Armstrong and Garrett Riggs of Southaven.

Second-team all-district selections were Drew Thomas, Ryan Nemnich, Bradley Smith, Reed Logsdon and Kameron James of DeSoto Central, Cole Catledge, Matthew Koch and Kheagan Hiltz of Olive Branch, Derrick Pointer of Horn Lake, and Jacob Henson, Keegan Hood and Cameron Lancaster of Southaven.

Bob Bakken is Sports Editor and may be reached at 662-429-6397 ext. 240.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.