0418 RiverKings.jpeg (copy)

Mississippi RiverKings forward Mike Moran, this past season's SPHL Rookie of the Year, is among the list of players the team has protected for the upcoming season, including an expansion draft for a new Birmingham, Ala. franchise.  

Kori LaVire|RiverKings

The Mississippi RiverKings SPHL franchise Tuesday announced the team’s 13-player protected list for the 2017-18 season.

The RiverKings chose to protect forwards Cullen Bradshaw, Dillan Fox, Matt Harrington, Devin Mantha, Ryan Marcuz, Mike Moran and Derek Sutliffe, defensemen Richard Coyne, Mike Grace, Sam Higgins and Joe Sova, and goaltenders Brad Barone and Peter Di Salvo.

All unprotected players, including those from Columbus, Ga. franchise that has suspended operations, are now eligible for the 2017 SPHL expansion draft for the new team starting next season in Birmingham, Ala.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.